

European Union Committee

House of Lords London SWIA 0PW Tel: 020 7219 6083 Fax: 020 7219 6715 euclords@parliament.uk www.parliament.uk/lords

Rt Hon Dominic Raab MP Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office King Charles Street London SWIA 2AH 8 December 2020

Dear Foreign Secretary,

FUTURE UK-EU COOPERATION ON SANCTIONS POLICY

Thank you for your letter dated 27 November 2020, which was considered by the EU Security and Justice Sub-Committee at its meeting of 8 December.

We are grateful for your engagement with our questions and your confirmation that the Government " will review the effectiveness of the Global Human Rights (GHR) sanctions regime annually and report to Parliament on the conclusions of each review" and your statement that "If the Government determines that it is no longer appropriate to maintain an autonomous sanctions regime, that regime will be removed or amended accordingly."

We were pleased to read that the Government intends to "coordinate closely with our European and other international partners" on sanctions policy. We also welcome your commitment to a multilateral approach in these matters and your statement that "international cooperation will remain at the heart of UK sanctions policy, as sanctions are most effective when implemented and enforced collectively." This approach is consistent with the expert evidence that we, and our predecessor Committees, have heard repeatedly.

Finally, we thank you for confirming that "Work to determine which [current] EU listings will be transitioned into UK law is underway" and that the Government will publish those selected for transfer "at the end of the transition period."

The Committee looks forward to discussing these matters further at its meeting in January 2021 with Lord Ahmed of Wimbledon, Minister of State at the FCDO.

We do not expect a response to this letter.

I am copying this letter to Lord Kinnoull, Chair Lords EU Select Committee; Sir William Cash, Chair of the European Scrutiny Committee; Jessica Mulley, Clerk to the European Scrutiny Committee; Tom Tugendhat MP, Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee; Chris Shaw, Clerk to the Foreign Affairs Committee; and Olivia Cormack, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.

Yours sincerely

Jek Robelt

Lord Ricketts Chair of the EU Security and Justice Sub-Committee